Chicago Barn to Wire
Home | News | Bloggers | Forums | Resources | Links | Marketplace | Gallery | Contact Us | Search


November 23, 2014, 01:32:07 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you don't remember your password, email me.

New  registration procedures -- Some ISPs have been bouncing the verification emails.  Please email me to be activated or if you have any problems.  Click Contact Us above.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Q  (Read 980 times)
Justafan
Guest

Q
« on: November 22, 2005, 08:16:10 PM »

#2 BEFORE the start causes interference to the trailing #12.  The finish of the race is 2-9-4-12.  They DQ #2 to 4th for causing interference BEFORE the start, thus making is a 9-4-12-2.  Then they declare #12 a non-starter because of the interference BEFORE the start of the race.  They then go official iwth 9-4-2. 

My question is the interference was BEFORE the race.  You can be DQ'ed for something that occurs BEFORE the race?

Talk about a gay rule.
Report to moderator   Logged
edwardwilliam
Annnnnnnnnd they're off!
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 6252

Rebate shops are not the devil.


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2005, 09:16:54 PM »

#2 BEFORE the start causes interference to the trailing #12.  The finish of the race is 2-9-4-12.  They DQ #2 to 4th for causing interference BEFORE the start, thus making is a 9-4-12-2.  Then they declare #12 a non-starter because of the interference BEFORE the start of the race.  They then go official iwth 9-4-2. 

My question is the interference was BEFORE the race.  You can be DQ'ed for something that occurs BEFORE the race?

Talk about a gay rule.

Of course you can be DQed for something before the start!  It's not fair for interference to occur and no penalty to result.

IMO, there should've been a recall.

Another point of contention I have: if a horse is off-stride BEFORE the start, I think there should be a recall.  He should be charged with the recall (and after two be scratched), but I don't think it's fair to owners, horsemen, and bettors to start a race with one entrant out of it...

Best,
EW
Report to moderator   Logged

Stick to Fantasyland pal, because you'll NEVER make it in the real world - TC
Justafan
Guest

« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2005, 10:42:21 PM »

I'm not trying to allege that infractions before the word "go" should go overlooked.  I'm saying that if there should have been a recall, I think it unfair to penalize the bettors in any way.  It was the starters error for no recall and those betting on the #2 paid the price. 

Report to moderator   Logged
Dr.Trotter
Full Member
***
Posts: 119




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2005, 10:43:06 PM »

Interference before the start is an automatic recall, IMO the correct call would be 12 is a non starter (since the starter missed the interference) and 2 is placed as finished.    What they did doesn't make since, you can't throw a horse out who interfered with a horse that was technically never in the race.
« Last Edit: November 22, 2005, 10:48:02 PM by BalmuleandGaywood » Report to moderator   Logged
Justafan
Guest

« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2005, 10:44:39 PM »

Thank you for understanding BalmuleandGaywood!

No offense EW, but you really missed the point I was trying to make.
Report to moderator   Logged
edwardwilliam
Annnnnnnnnd they're off!
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 6252

Rebate shops are not the devil.


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2005, 11:20:15 PM »

No offense EW, but you really missed the point I was trying to make.

You said:
I'm saying that if there should have been a recall, I think it unfair to penalize the bettors in any way.

And I said:
IMO, there should've been a recall.

I think we are pretty much in agreement.

Best,
EW
Report to moderator   Logged

Stick to Fantasyland pal, because you'll NEVER make it in the real world - TC
edwardwilliam
Annnnnnnnnd they're off!
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 6252

Rebate shops are not the devil.


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2005, 11:21:20 PM »

BTW -- what about purse money?  I'm assumig that's why the 2 was taken down...

Best,
EW
Report to moderator   Logged

Stick to Fantasyland pal, because you'll NEVER make it in the real world - TC
Dr.Trotter
Full Member
***
Posts: 119




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2005, 11:24:55 PM »

I was looking at the usta rule book htp://www.ustrotting.com/pdf/UstaRuleBook05.PDF

A horse can be placed back for interference before the start and it sounds like it is the starters call rather or not a horse is declared a non-starter.  Why don't you guys take a look and see what you think?
Report to moderator   Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.285 seconds with 16 queries.

Home
Upcoming events
Breeders' Cup
Horse slaughter in IL
Racing TV schedule
News Updates
Legislation

Galloping Out

Previous stories

Arlington
Balmoral
Hawthorne
Maywood
Chicago Sun-Times
Chicago Tribune
Blood-Horse
Daily Racing Form
Thoroughbred Times
Harness Link
Illinois Racing Board

 

2014

Breeders' Cup
Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby

2013

Breeders' Cup
Hawthorne Gold Cup
Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby

2012

Breeders' Cup
Hawthorne Gold Cup
Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby

More ebay items

 

Home | News Updates | Bloggers | Forums | Search
Resources | Links | Marketplace | Gallery | Advertising | Contact Us

Copyright © 2000-2014 Chicago Barn to Wire. All rights reserved.
Privacy policy