#2 BEFORE the start causes interference to the trailing #12. The finish of the race is 2-9-4-12. They DQ #2 to 4th for causing interference BEFORE the start, thus making is a 9-4-12-2. Then they declare #12 a non-starter because of the interference BEFORE the start of the race. They then go official iwth 9-4-2.
My question is the interference was BEFORE the race. You can be DQ'ed for something that occurs BEFORE the race?
Talk about a gay rule.
Of course you can be DQed for something before the start! It's not fair for interference to occur and no penalty to result.
IMO, there should've been a recall.
Another point of contention I have: if a horse is off-stride BEFORE the start, I think there should be a recall. He should be charged with the recall (and after two be scratched), but I don't think it's fair to owners, horsemen, and bettors to start a race with one entrant out of it...