Chicago Barn to Wire
Home | News | Bloggers | Forums | Resources | Links | Marketplace | Gallery | Contact Us | Search

March 30, 2017, 03:58:29 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you don't remember your password, email me.

New  registration procedures -- Some ISPs have been bouncing the verification emails.  Please email me to be activated or if you have any problems.  Click Contact Us above.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: 2012 Eclipse Awards Finalists Are Announced  (Read 1155 times)
Hero Member
Posts: 7054

« on: January 05, 2013, 12:19:50 PM »

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association, Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers And Broadcasters today announced the finalists for 2012 Eclipse Awards, recognizing excellence in Thoroughbred racing. Winners in all 17 horse and human categories will be announced at the 42nd annual Eclipse Awards, presented by Daily Racing Form, The Stronach Group and the Breeders’ Cup on Saturday evening, January 19 at the Gulfstream Park in Hallandale Beach, Fla.
Of the 272 eligible voters representing the NTRA, Daily Racing Form, and the NTWAB, 254 individuals (93.38%) took part in this year’s voting. Finalists were determined in each category by voters’ top three selections, using a 10-5-1 point system. Eclipse Award winners are determined solely by first place votes. 
The 2012 Eclipse Awards finalists (in alphabetical order) are:
Two-Year-Old Male:               Shanghai Bobby, Uncaptured, Violence
Two-Year-Old Filly:                Beholder, Dreaming of Julia, Executiveprivilege
Three-Year-Old Male:             Bodemeister, I’ll Have Another, Union Rags
Three-Year-Old Filly:              Believe You Can, My Miss Aurelia, Questing (GB) 
 Older Male:                            Fort Larned, Little Mike, Wise Dan                     
 Older Female:                       Groupie Doll, Include Me Out, Royal Delta
Male Sprinter:                       The Lumber Guy, Shackleford, Trinniberg
 Female Sprinter:                   Contested, Groupie Doll, Mizdirection                     
Male Turf Horse:                    Little Mike, Point of Entry, Wise Dan,         
 Female Turf Horse:                Marketing Mix, Tapitsfly, Zagora (FR)
 Steeplechase Horse:              Demonstrative, Divine Fortune, Pierrot Lunaire
Horse of the Year                   Fort Larned, I’ll Have Another, Wise Dan
 Owner:                                   Godolphin Racing LLC, Midwest Thoroughbreds, Inc.,
Reddam Racing LLC   
 Breeder:                                 Adena Springs, Darley, Brereton C. Jones         
 Trainer:                                   Bob Baffert, Todd Pletcher, Dale Romans     
 Jockey:                                  Javier Castellano, Ramon Dominguez, John Velazquez
Apprentice Jockey:                Jose Montano, Irad Ortiz, Jr., Angel Suarez 
The Eclipse Awards, which will be televised live on HRTV, are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies. The Eclipse Awards are bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements in North America have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories. Those awards are voted by NTRA, Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB). Eclipse Awards also are given to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing.
The Eclipse Awards are presented by Daily Racing Form, The Stronach Group and Breeders’ Cup and produced by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA). Official Partners of the Eclipse Awards include Adequan, Besilu Stables, Keeneland, Kendall-Jackson, NOA Watches and Roberts Communications. The official hotel of the Eclipse Awards is the Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa.
Tickets to the Eclipse Awards are available for $375 each. Order forms for tickets are available at. Hotel Reservations at the Westin Diplomat can be made at For additional information, please contact Michele Ravencraft of the NTRA at
Report to moderator   Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.056 seconds with 18 queries.

Upcoming events
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby
Horse slaughter in IL
Racing TV schedule
News Updates

Galloping Out

Previous stories

Chicago Sun-Times
Chicago Tribune
Daily Racing Form
Thoroughbred Times
Harness Link
Illinois Racing Board



Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby


Breeders' Cup
Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby


Breeders' Cup
Hawthorne Gold Cup
Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby

More ebay items


Home | News Updates | Bloggers | Forums | Search
Resources | Links | Marketplace | Gallery | Advertising | Contact Us

Copyright © 2000-2017 Chicago Barn to Wire. All rights reserved.
Privacy policy