Chicago Barn to Wire BRIS
Home | News | Bloggers | Forums | Resources | Links | Marketplace | Gallery | Contact Us | Search


October 01, 2014, 07:39:22 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you don't remember your password, email me.

New  registration procedures -- Some ISPs have been bouncing the verification emails.  Please email me to be activated or if you have any problems.  Click Contact Us above.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Race 5 Dover DQ  (Read 429 times)
3 wide and wingin
Guest

« on: January 08, 2013, 05:59:03 PM »

I think its a good place second.

Yes the horse won for fun and barely went inside the pylons.
Normally I like seeing the best horse being put first if he finishes first.

But I am tired of the judges having discretion on pylon infractions.

If there was a rail there you couldn't do it.
You would be wrecked.

IMO if you go inside the pylons with no good reason to do it.
You should be placed back at least one spot.
Period.

So good call by the judges in this one.
Report to moderator   Logged
Sea Biscuit
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7658

Member Since Dec 17-2006




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2013, 07:36:20 PM »

I think its a good place second.

Yes the horse won for fun and barely went inside the pylons.
Normally I like seeing the best horse being put first if he finishes first.

But I am tired of the judges having discretion on pylon infractions.

If there was a rail there you couldn't do it.
You would be wrecked.

IMO if you go inside the pylons with no good reason to do it.
You should be placed back at least one spot.
Period.

So good call by the judges in this one.

The way I read the rules it is ok if he goes inside 1 pylon. If he goes inside two consecutive pylons he will be put behind any horse/s over lapping him. If he goes inside 3 consecutive pylons he will be placed dead last.
Report to moderator   Logged
3 wide and wingin
Guest

« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2013, 07:41:49 PM »

The way I read the rules it is ok if he goes inside 1 pylon. If he goes inside two consecutive pylons he will be put behind any horse/s over lapping him. If he goes inside 3 consecutive pylons he will be placed dead last.
That would be an intersting rule.

If you are allowed to go inside one pylon.
A driver should incorporate that into decision making and pick a random pylon each race to go inside of.

I don't think that's a written rule it is about judges discretion.
And them trying to guess what the driver was thinking.

I hate that aspect of the sport.
Other people trying to tell you what someone else was thinking or doing.
Report to moderator   Logged
Sea Biscuit
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7658

Member Since Dec 17-2006




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2013, 07:56:11 PM »

That would be an intersting rule.

If you are allowed to go inside one pylon.
A driver should incorporate that into decision making and pick a random pylon each race to go inside of.

I don't think that's a written rule it is about judges discretion.
And them trying to guess what the driver was thinking.

I hate that aspect of the sport.
Other people trying to tell you what someone else was thinking or doing.

Here is the actual Canadian rule:

ORC PYLON RULE 18:08

When dealing with violations of standardbred rule 18.08 the following guidelines are to be used:

1. Any horse or part of the horse’s sulky that leaves the race course by going inside the pylons, when not forced to do so as a result of the
actions of another driver and/or horse or without being interfered with by another driver and/or horse, shall be placed as follows:

a) if any horse or part of the horse’s sulky goes inside two (2) consecutive pylons, the offending horse shall be placed behind all horses that are lapped on to the offending horse at the wire;

b) if any horse or part of the horse’s sulky goes inside three (3) or more consecutive pylons, the offending horse shall be place last.

I could not find the rule in the USTA rule book for pylon violations. I am sure its there somewhere. Here is the link for it.

http://www.ustrotting.com/pdf/USTARuleBook.pdf
Report to moderator   Logged
3 wide and wingin
Guest

« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2013, 08:01:49 PM »

Here is the actual Canadian rule:

ORC PYLON RULE 18:08

When dealing with violations of standardbred rule 18.08 the following guidelines are to be used:

1. Any horse or part of the horse’s sulky that leaves the race course by going inside the pylons, when not forced to do so as a result of the
actions of another driver and/or horse or without being interfered with by another driver and/or horse, shall be placed as follows:

a) if any horse or part of the horse’s sulky goes inside two (2) consecutive pylons, the offending horse shall be placed behind all horses that are lapped on to the offending horse at the wire;

b) if any horse or part of the horse’s sulky goes inside three (3) or more consecutive pylons, the offending horse shall be place last.

I could not find the rule in the USTA rule book for pylon violations. I am sure its there somewhere. Here is the link for it.

http://www.ustrotting.com/pdf/USTARuleBook.pdf


So they are leaving the one pylon up to the judges?

I just think there should be a uniform rule.

If one pylon is indeed allowed

Why aren't all horses purposely going inside one every race? It would be a legal and fair advantage.
Report to moderator   Logged
Sea Biscuit
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7658

Member Since Dec 17-2006




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2013, 08:08:39 PM »

So they are leaving the one pylon up to the judges?


If one pylon is indeed allowed


It does not say it is allowed to go inside one pylon in black and white but they usually don't touch a horse who does.

You don't' expect a driver to zig and zag during a race. Do you?
Report to moderator   Logged
3 wide and wingin
Guest

« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2013, 08:13:47 PM »

It does not say it is allowed to go inside one pylon in black and white but they usually don't touch a horse who does.

You don't' expect a driver to zig and zag during a race. Do you?

I am sure there an advantage to going inside a pylon at some point in a race.

Particularly the last one before the passing lane. If you were "allowed" to go inside one why wouldn't every driver on the rail go inside that one and get a jump on the passing lane?
Report to moderator   Logged
Sea Biscuit
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 7658

Member Since Dec 17-2006




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2013, 08:23:18 PM »

I am sure there an advantage to going inside a pylon at some point in a race.

Particularly the last one before the passing lane. If you were "allowed" to go inside one why wouldn't every driver on the rail go inside that one and get a jump on the passing lane?

Report to moderator   Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.066 seconds with 17 queries.

Home
Upcoming events
Arlington Million
Horse slaughter in IL
Racing TV schedule
News Updates
Legislation

Galloping Out

Previous stories

Arlington
Balmoral
Hawthorne
Maywood
Chicago Sun-Times
Chicago Tribune
Blood-Horse
Daily Racing Form
Thoroughbred Times
Harness Link
Illinois Racing Board

 

2014

Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby

2013

Breeders' Cup
Hawthorne Gold Cup
Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby

2012

Breeders' Cup
Hawthorne Gold Cup
Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby

More ebay items

 

Home | News Updates | Bloggers | Forums | Search
Resources | Links | Marketplace | Gallery | Advertising | Contact Us

Copyright © 2000-2014 Chicago Barn to Wire. All rights reserved.
Privacy policy