That would be an intersting rule.
If you are allowed to go inside one pylon.
A driver should incorporate that into decision making and pick a random pylon each race to go inside of.
I don't think that's a written rule it is about judges discretion.
And them trying to guess what the driver was thinking.
I hate that aspect of the sport.
Other people trying to tell you what someone else was thinking or doing.
Here is the actual Canadian rule:ORC PYLON RULE 18:08
When dealing with violations of standardbred rule 18.08 the following guidelines are to be used:
1. Any horse or part of the horse’s sulky that leaves the race course by going inside the pylons, when not forced to do so as a result of the
actions of another driver and/or horse or without being interfered with by another driver and/or horse, shall be placed as follows:
a) if any horse or part of the horse’s sulky goes inside two (2) consecutive pylons, the offending horse shall be placed behind all horses that are lapped on to the offending horse at the wire;
b) if any horse or part of the horse’s sulky goes inside three (3) or more consecutive pylons, the offending horse shall be place last.
I could not find the rule in the USTA rule book for pylon violations. I am sure its there somewhere. Here is the link for it.http://www.ustrotting.com/pdf/USTARuleBook.pdf