Chicago Barn to Wire
Home | News | Bloggers | Forums | Resources | Links | Marketplace | Gallery | Contact Us | Search

March 23, 2017, 07:29:34 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you don't remember your password, email me.

New  registration procedures -- Some ISPs have been bouncing the verification emails.  Please email me to be activated or if you have any problems.  Click Contact Us above.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: 2011 Eclipse Award Voting to be Re-Done for the Category of Apprentice Jockey  (Read 1015 times)
Hero Member
Posts: 7054

« on: January 07, 2012, 08:48:03 AM »

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association, Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers And Broadcasters today announced that, due to an error relating to the data provided to them and to voters, balloting would be re-conducted to determine the winner of the 2011 Eclipse Award for Champion Apprentice Jockey.

On Thursday of this week, it was announced that the three finalists for the Apprentice Jockey Eclipse Award were Ryan Curatolo, Kyle Frey and Rosario Montanez. However, it was subsequently determined that statistics provided to voters were incorrect. The statistics did not accurately reflect when one of the eventual finalists, Montanez, lost his apprentice allowance during 2011. As a result, his statistics, as presented in the voting guide and online, included wins and earnings accomplished after he became a journeyman rider.

A re-vote in the Apprentice Jockey category will take place early next week, in advance of the January 16 Eclipse Awards. Voters will be able to select any eligible apprentice rider, including ones not among the originally announced group of finalists.

“This is an extremely unfortunate situation, but given the circumstances, the three voting organizations feel the only fair thing to do is to conduct a second vote,” said Keith Chamblin, Senior Vice President of the NTRA and a member of the Eclipse Award Steering Committee. “The three organizations agree that to have any Eclipse Award votes cast based on inaccurate or misleading data is simply not acceptable.”

The Eclipse Awards, presented by the Daily Racing Form and the Breeders’ Cup, are bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements in North America have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories. Those awards are voted by NTRA, Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB). Awards also are given to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing.
Report to moderator   Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.047 seconds with 17 queries.

Upcoming events
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby
Horse slaughter in IL
Racing TV schedule
News Updates

Galloping Out

Previous stories

Chicago Sun-Times
Chicago Tribune
Daily Racing Form
Thoroughbred Times
Harness Link
Illinois Racing Board



Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby


Breeders' Cup
Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby


Breeders' Cup
Hawthorne Gold Cup
Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby

More ebay items


Home | News Updates | Bloggers | Forums | Search
Resources | Links | Marketplace | Gallery | Advertising | Contact Us

Copyright © 2000-2017 Chicago Barn to Wire. All rights reserved.
Privacy policy