Chicago Barn to Wire
Home | News | Bloggers | Forums | Resources | Links | Marketplace | Gallery | Contact Us | Search

March 26, 2017, 12:08:40 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you don't remember your password, email me.

New  registration procedures -- Some ISPs have been bouncing the verification emails.  Please email me to be activated or if you have any problems.  Click Contact Us above.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Eclipse Awards Finalists Announced  (Read 871 times)
Hero Member
Posts: 7054

« on: January 03, 2007, 11:08:12 AM »


The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), National Turf Writers Association (NTWA) and Daily Racing Form (DRF) today announced the finalists for the 2006 Eclipse Awards, as voted on and presented by the three organizations in recognition of excellence in Thoroughbred racing. Winners in all categories will be announced at the 36th annual Eclipse Awards ceremony, to be held Monday, January 22 at the Beverly Wilshire Four Seasons hotel in Beverly Hills, Calif.

The Eclipse Awards finalists (in alphabetical order) are:

·         Two-Year-Old Male:  Circular Quay, Nobiz Like Shobiz, Street Sense
·         Two-Year-Old Filly: Dreaming of Anna, Octave, Point Ashley     
·         Three-Year-Old Male: Barbaro, Bernardini, Discreet Cat
·         Three-Year-Old Filly: Bushfire, Pine Island, Wait a While
·         Older Male: Invasor (ARG), Lava Man, Premium Tap
·         Older Female:  Asi Siempre, Fleet Indian, Round Pond
·         Sprinter: Discreet Cat, Henny Hughes, Thor’s Echo
·         Male Turf Horse: English Channel, Miesque’s Approval, The Tin Man
·         Female Turf Horse: Gorella (FR), Ouija Board (GB), Wait a While
·         Steeplechase:  McDynamo, Mixed Up, Sur La Tete
·         Owner:  Darley Stable, Lael Stables, Shadwell Stable
·         Breeder: Adena Springs, Darley, Mr. and Mrs. Roy Jackson
·         Trainer:  Kiaran McLaughlin, Doug O’Neill, Todd Pletcher
·         Jockey:  Russell Baze, Garrett Gomez, Edgar Prado
·         Apprentice Jockey: Martin Garcia, Julien Leparoux, Rosie Napravnik

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.

For hotel accommodations and Eclipse Awards dinner reservations, contact Debbie Blair at the NTRA’s Lexington office, (800) 792-6872, or e-mail

The NTRA is a broad-based coalition of horseracing interests consisting of leading Thoroughbred racetracks, owners, breeders, trainers and affiliated horse racing associations, charged with increasing the popularity of horse racing and improving economic conditions for industry participants. The NTRA has offices in Lexington, Ky., and New York City. NTRA press releases appear on the NTRA Web site,
Report to moderator   Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.051 seconds with 17 queries.

Upcoming events
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby
Horse slaughter in IL
Racing TV schedule
News Updates

Galloping Out

Previous stories

Chicago Sun-Times
Chicago Tribune
Daily Racing Form
Thoroughbred Times
Harness Link
Illinois Racing Board



Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby


Breeders' Cup
Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby


Breeders' Cup
Hawthorne Gold Cup
Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby

More ebay items


Home | News Updates | Bloggers | Forums | Search
Resources | Links | Marketplace | Gallery | Advertising | Contact Us

Copyright © 2000-2017 Chicago Barn to Wire. All rights reserved.
Privacy policy