Chicago Barn to Wire
Home | News | Bloggers | Forums | Resources | Links | Marketplace | Gallery | Contact Us | Search

March 28, 2017, 01:28:37 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you don't remember your password, email me.

New  registration procedures -- Some ISPs have been bouncing the verification emails.  Please email me to be activated or if you have any problems.  Click Contact Us above.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Breeders’ Cup Veterans Back To Win  (Read 1543 times)
Hero Member
Posts: 7054

« on: October 27, 2005, 04:15:24 PM »

Thursday, October 27, 2005                   Contact: Breeders’ Cup Notes Team (516) 328-6017

Breeders’ Cup Veterans Back To Win

Trainer D. Wayne Lukas will be extending his place in Breeders’ Cup history and Jeremy Noseda, Don Chatlos and John Oxx will be trying to make some Saturday when the 22nd World Thoroughbred Championships take center stage at Belmont Park.

Lukas, the only trainer to have a starter at every Breeders’ Cup, will have two entrants Saturday, both in the Juvenile Fillies – Ex Caelis and Folklore. Lukas has won the Juvenile Fillies four times, most recently in 1999 with Cash Run at Gulfstream Park.

The 2-year-old races have been dominated by Lukas. In addition to his four victories in the Juvenile Fillies, he has won the Juvenile five times. In all, Lukas owns Breeders’ Cup records for starters (143), victories (17) and money won ($19,033,900).

Lukas has had more multiple win days (six) than any other conditioner, and his streak of four consecutive multi-win years (1985-88) is unsurpassed. In five championship events, Lukas has had the most starters, topped by 14 in 1987.

The Hall of Famer won races five consecutive years (1985-89) and only Aidan O’Brien comes close to that achievement with one victory each from 2001-03.

Unless there is a dead-heat  in the Mile between Majors Cast and Singletary, either Noseda or Chatlos will have a chance to improve to 2-for-2 in the Breeders’ Cup.

Sixteen trainers won with their first Breeders’ Cup starter, but only Mel Stute won wth his first two – Brave Raj in the 1986 Juvenile Fillies and Very Subtle in the 1987 Sprint.

Noseda scored last year with Wilko in the Juvenile and Chatlos triumphed with Singletary in the Mile in their initial Breeders’ Cup forays.

Oxx, who has not had a Breeders’ Cup starter since taking the 1995 Mile with Ridgewood Pearl in his Breeders’ Cup debut, brings Azamour to the Turf. Pascal Bary went 11 years from his first Breeders’ Cup winner (Miss Alleged, 1991 Turf) to his second (Domedriver, 2002 Mile), and he had three other starters in that span.

Singletary is one of four defending champions returning, equaling the largest number of returning winners set in 1993. Also returning are Ashado (Distaff) for Todd Pletcher, who became the sixth trainer to saddle multiple winners on a single day when Speightstown took the Sprint at Lone Star; Ouija Board (Filly & Mare Turf) for Ed Dunlop and Better Talk Now (Turf) for Graham Motion.

Trainer Robert Frankel, second to Lukas in Breeders’ Cup earnings with $9,679,820, will have three entrants Saturday, headed by Leroidesanimaux in the Mile and Megahertz in the Filly & Mare Turf.

Shug McGaughey, who is second to Lukas in wins with eight, will have one entrant Saturday: Pleasant Home in the Distaff. McGaughey has had multiple-win days twice, most recently at Belmont Park in 1995.

Another trainer closing in on the $10 million mark is Bill Mott. Mott, who captured the 1995 Classic at Belmont with Cigar for one of his five victories, has earnings of $8,542,960 and will have five starters Saturday, headlined by the undefeated Shakespeare in the Turf.

Richard Mandella, who owns the Breeders’ Cup record for most wins on a single day – four in 2003 – has  two starters Saturday headlined by Rock Hard Ten in the Classic.

Report to moderator   Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.062 seconds with 17 queries.

Upcoming events
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby
Horse slaughter in IL
Racing TV schedule
News Updates

Galloping Out

Previous stories

Chicago Sun-Times
Chicago Tribune
Daily Racing Form
Thoroughbred Times
Harness Link
Illinois Racing Board



Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby


Breeders' Cup
Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby


Breeders' Cup
Hawthorne Gold Cup
Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby

More ebay items


Home | News Updates | Bloggers | Forums | Search
Resources | Links | Marketplace | Gallery | Advertising | Contact Us

Copyright © 2000-2017 Chicago Barn to Wire. All rights reserved.
Privacy policy