Chicago Barn to Wire
Home | News | Bloggers | Forums | Resources | Links | Marketplace | Gallery | Contact Us | Search

March 26, 2017, 02:16:56 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: If you don't remember your password, email me.

New  registration procedures -- Some ISPs have been bouncing the verification emails.  Please email me to be activated or if you have any problems.  Click Contact Us above.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Trainer Notes - 11/1  (Read 681 times)
Hero Member
Posts: 7054

« on: November 01, 2006, 03:03:32 PM »

Leading Breeders’ Cup Trainers by Money Won

Trainer                              Starters        1st              2nd             3rd              Money Won

D. Wayne Lukas            145               18              20              15               $19,645,520

Robert Frankel               66                 4                9                7                   10,636,020

Shug McGaughey           48                 9                9                1                     8,693,560

William Mott                  46                 5                6                4                     8,542,960

Andre Fabre                   38                 4                4                7                     7,621,000

Richard Mandella           28                 6                1                1                     7,116,960

Neil Drysdale                32                 6                4                2                     6,065,840

Aidan O’Brien                35                 3                6                4                     6,007,020

Bob Baffert                    42                 3                7                3                     5,349,800

Jay Robbins                    6                   2                0                0                     4,938,400

Breeders’ Cup Trainer Nuggets

        *D. Wayne Lukas is only trainer to have had a starter in every Breeders' Cup.

        *Mel Stute is the only trainer to win with his first two Breeders' Cup starters: Brave Raj (1986 Juvenile Fillies) and Very Subtle (1987 Sprint).

        *Not counting 1984 when six of the seven winning trainers won with their first starters, 20 trainers have won with their initial Breeders' Cup starters. In all, eight trainers are 1-for-1. They are: Louis Albertrani (Artax, 1999 Sprint), Budd Lepman (Eillo, 1984 Sprint), Steve Margolis (Cajun Beat, 2003 Sprint), Frank Martin (Outstandingly, 1984 Juvenile Fillies), Vincent O'Brien (Royal Academy, 1990 Mile), Jim Ryerson (Unbridled's Song, 1995 Juvenile), Vincent Timphony (Wild Again, 1984 Classic), David Vance (Caressing, 2000 Juvenile Fillies).

        *Six trainers have won two or more Breeders' Cup races on a single day and three have done it multiple times. D. Wayne Lukas won three races in 1988 (Gulch, Sprint; Is It True, Juvenile; and Open Mind, Juvenile Fillies) and two in 1985 (Life's Magic, Distaff and Twilight Ridge, Juvenile Fillies), 1986 (Capote, Juvenile and Lady's Secret, Distaff), 1987 (Sacahuista, Distaff and Success Express, Juvenile), 1994 (Flanders, Juvenile Fillies and Timber Country, Juvenile) and 1999 (Cash Run, Juvenile Fillies and Cat Thief, Classic). Richard Mandella won four races in 2003 (Action This Day, Juvenile; Halfbridled, Juvenile Fillies; Johar [deadheat], Turf and Pleasantly Perfect, Classic) and two in 1993 (Phone Chatter, Juvenile Fillies and Kotashaan, Turf). Shug McGaughey won two races in 1989 (Dancing Spree, Sprint and Rhythm, Juvenile) and 1995 (My Flag, Juvenile Fillies and Inside Information, Distaff). Other double winners are Patrick Byrne (1997 Juvenile, Favorite Trick and Juvenile Fillies, Countess Diana), Joe Orseno (2000 Juvenile, Macho Uno and Filly & Mare Turf, Perfect Sting) and Todd Pletcher (2004 Sprint. Speightstown and Distaff, Ashado).

        *Thirteen trainers have won races in consecutive years. D. Wayne Lukas triumphed in five consecutive years (1985-89) and Aidan O'Brien had wins on the card in three consecutive years (2001-03). In addition to Lukas and O'Brien, three trainers have posted victories in consecutive years twice. They are Neil Drysdale (1984-85 and 1992-93), Bobby Frankel (2001-02 and 2004-05) and Shug McGaughey (1988-89 and 1992-93). Other trainers to post victories in consecutive years are Pascal Bary (2002-03), Francois Boutin (1987-88), Patrick Byrne (1997-98), Ron McAnally (1989-90), Bill Mott (1997-98), Jay Robbins (2000-01), Jenine Sahadi (1996-97) and Mel Stute (1986-87).

        *Five trainers have repeated in back-to-back years in the same race with the same horse. They are: Francois Boutin (1987-88 Miesque, Mile), Shug McGaughey (1992-93 Lure, Mile), Ron McAnally (1989-90 Bayakoa, Distaff), Jay Robbins (2000-01 Tiznow, Classic) and Aidan O'Brien (2002-03 High Chaparral [deadheat in ‘03], Turf).
« Last Edit: November 01, 2006, 03:30:51 PM by jrstark » Report to moderator   Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.076 seconds with 17 queries.

Upcoming events
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby
Horse slaughter in IL
Racing TV schedule
News Updates

Galloping Out

Previous stories

Chicago Sun-Times
Chicago Tribune
Daily Racing Form
Thoroughbred Times
Harness Link
Illinois Racing Board



Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby


Breeders' Cup
Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby


Breeders' Cup
Hawthorne Gold Cup
Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby

More ebay items


Home | News Updates | Bloggers | Forums | Search
Resources | Links | Marketplace | Gallery | Advertising | Contact Us

Copyright © 2000-2017 Chicago Barn to Wire. All rights reserved.
Privacy policy