chicago barn to wire

Kentucky Derby Fantasy Contest 2001


Contact: Eric Wing (212) 907-9283


In voting concluded today, Craig R. Fravel, executive vice president of the Del Mar Thoroughbred Club; Bryan Krantz, president and general manager of Fair Grounds; and Nick Nicholson, president and chief executive officer of Keeneland, were elected to fill three new, independent racetrack seats on the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) Board of Directors, representing the West, South and Midwest regions, respectively.

A fourth independent racetrack seat, representing the Mid-Atlantic region, was not voted on and remains open because an insufficient number of racetracks in this region have renewed membership in the NTRA for 2001. This seat will remain open until March 31, 2001, at which time, if there is still an insufficient number of tracks from the Mid-Atlantic region in the NTRA, the seat will convert to an at-large racetrack seat with a separate election to follow shortly thereafter.

Tracks representing more than 98% of the dues in the West, South and Midwest regions participated in the elections. NTRA-member tracks that were eligible to participate in the election of the independent racetrack seats were (by region):

West Region: Del Mar, Oak Tree Racing Association, Emerald Downs, Fairplex Park, Los Alamitos, Sunland Park, Prescott Downs, Ruidoso Downs, Sonoma County Fair and San Joaquin.

South Region: Fair Grounds, Lone Star Park at Grand Prairie, Sam Houston, Retama Park, Blue Ribbon Downs, Delta Downs and Fair Meadows.

Midwest Region: Turfway Park, Keeneland, National Jockey Club, River Downs, Canterbury Park, Prairie Meadows, Fonner Park, Horsemen's Park, Nebraska State Fair and Columbus Races (Platte City).

Other NTRA-member tracks include those of Churchill Downs Incorporated (Arlington Park, Calder Race Course, Churchill Downs, Ellis Park, Hollywood Park and Hoosier Park), Magna Entertainment Corp. (Bay Meadows, Golden Gate Fields, Great Lakes Downs, Gulfstream Park, Remington Park, Santa Anita Park and Thistledown) and the New York Racing Association (Aqueduct, Belmont Park and Saratoga), in addition to Mountaineer Park and Suffolk Downs.

The complete NTRA Board, which is scheduled to meet Feb. 15-16 in Palm Beach Gardens, Fla., is now as follows:

NTRA Commissioner & CEO
Tim Smith

Horsemen's Representatives
Robert Clay, Thoroughbred Owners & Breeders Association
Alan Foreman, Thoroughbred Horsemen's Association
Robert Lewis, Thoroughbred Owners of California
Ogden Mills Phipps, The Jockey Club
D.G. Van Clief, Jr., Breeders' Cup
G. Watts Humphrey, Breeders' Cup
Bill Walmsley, National H.B.P.A.

Racetrack Representatives
Craig R. Fravel, West Region, Independent
Bryan Krantz, South Region, Independent
Thomas H. Meeker, Churchill Downs Incorporated
Terence Meyocks, New York Racing Association
Nick Nicholson, Midwest Region, Independent
Frank Stronach, Magna Entertainment Corporation
Mid-Atlantic Region (independent seat unfilled)

The NTRA is a broad-based coalition of Thoroughbred interests, which in addition to racetracks, includes owners, breeders, off-track betting organizations, trainers, jockeys, veterinarians and sales companies, among others. Through membership dues and funding from other horseracing interests, like the American Quarter Horse Association, the NTRA markets, advertises, promotes and televises horseracing in North America, and also serves as a catalyst for industry-wide programs benefiting members in group purchasing, telecommunications and technology, consumer research and legislative initiatives. As part of its mission to build positive public awareness of Thoroughbred racing and expand opportunities for enhancement of the Thoroughbred industry, the NTRA conducts the Breeders' Cup Championship-Thoroughbred racing's year-end showcase consisting of eight races and $13 million in purses and awards, as well as the National Stakes Program, worth millions in combined purses from Breeders' Cup and participating racetracks. The industry's breeders and owners fund purses for the Breeders' Cup Championship. With the National Turf Writers Association and Daily Racing Form, the NTRA also presents the Eclipse Awards, the annual awards recognizing excellence in Thoroughbred racing. The NTRA has offices in Lexington, Ky., and New York City. A compendium of NTRA press releases appears on the NTRA Web site,, and at the Web site for the Breeders' Cup Championship, Contact the NTRA at




Warning: include(googleleader.html) [function.include]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /hsphere/local/home/jrstark3/ on line 2

Warning: include(googleleader.html) [function.include]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /hsphere/local/home/jrstark3/ on line 2

Warning: include() [function.include]: Failed opening 'googleleader.html' for inclusion (include_path='.:/hsphere/shared/apache/libexec/php5ext/php/') in /hsphere/local/home/jrstark3/ on line 2

Home | News Updates | Racing Now | Forums | Search
Resources | Links | Classifieds | Gallery | Advertising | Contact Us

Copyright © 2000-2017 Chicago Barn to Wire. All rights reserved.
Privacy policy

Warning: include(analy.html) [function.include]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /hsphere/local/home/jrstark3/ on line 24

Warning: include(analy.html) [function.include]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /hsphere/local/home/jrstark3/ on line 24

Warning: include() [function.include]: Failed opening 'analy.html' for inclusion (include_path='.:/hsphere/shared/apache/libexec/php5ext/php/') in /hsphere/local/home/jrstark3/ on line 24