Chicago Barn to Wire
Home | News | Bloggers | Forums | Resources | Links | Marketplace | Gallery | Contact Us | Search
Chicago racing newsletter sign-up
Upcoming events
Arlington Million

News Updates

Previous stories

Chicago Sun-Times
Chicago Tribune
Daily Herald
Daily Racing Form
Harness Link
Illinois Racing Board

Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby

Breeders' Cup
Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby

Breeders' Cup
Hawthorne Gold Cup
Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby






January 5, 2012


The National Thoroughbred Racing Association, Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers And Broadcasters today announced the finalists for 2011 Eclipse Awards, recognizing excellence in Thoroughbred racing. Winners in all 17 horse and human categories will be announced at the 41st annual Eclipse Awards, presented by Daily Racing Form and the Breeders’ Cup on Monday evening, January 16 at the Beverly Wilshire (a Four Seasons Hotel), in Beverly Hills, Calif. Finalists in the Horse of the Year category will be announced on the night of the ceremony.

Of the 267 eligible voters representing the NTRA, the NTWAB and Daily Racing Form, 248 (92.88%) took part in this year’s voting. Finalists were determined in each category by voters’ top three selections, using a 10-5-1 point basis. Eclipse Award winners are determined solely by first place votes.

The Eclipse Awards finalists (in alphabetical order) are:

  • Two-Year-Old Male: Creative Cause, Hansen, Union Rags
  • Two-Year-Old Filly: Grace Hall, My Miss Aurelia, Stephanie’s Kitten
  • Three-Year-Old Male: Animal Kingdom, Caleb’s Posse, Shackleford
  • Three-Year-Old Filly: It’s Tricky, Plum Pretty, Royal Delta
  • Older Male: Acclamation, Game on Dude, Tizway
  • Older Female: Awesome Maria, Blind Luck, Havre de Grace
  • Male Sprinter: Amazombie, Caleb’s Posse, Regally Ready
  • Female Sprinter: Hilda’s Passion, Musical Romance, Sassy Image
  • Male Turf Horse: Acclamation, Cape Blanco (IRE), St Nicholas Abbey (IRE)
  • Female Turf Horse: Dubawi Heights (GB), Perfect Shirl, Stacelita (FR)
  • Steeplechase Horse: Black Jack Blues (IRE), Decoy Daddy (IRE), Tax Ruling (IRE)
  • Owner: Midwest Thoroughbreds, Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey, Team Valor
  • Breeder: Adena Springs, Brereton C. Jones, Kenneth and Sarah Ramsey
  • Trainer: Bob Baffert, Bill Mott, Todd Pletcher
  • Jockey: Javier Castellano, Ramon Dominguez, John Velazquez
  • Apprentice Jockey: Ryan Curatolo, Kyle Frey, Rosario Montanez

The 41st Annual Eclipse Awards, presented by Daily Racing Form and the Breeders’ Cup, will be held on Monday, January 16 at the Beverly Wilshire, a Four Seasons Hotel, in Beverly Hills, Calif. For hotel accommodations and Eclipse Awards ceremony reservations, contact Michele Ravencraft at the NTRA's Lexington office, (800) 792-6872, or e-mail

The Eclipse Awards, presented by the Daily Racing Form and Breeders’ Cup, are bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements in North America have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories. Those awards are voted by NTRA, Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB). Awards also are given to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing.

index sitemap advanced
search engine by freefind



Recent headlines

Commissioner goes out with a win in Hawthorne Gold Cup (11/28)

Commissioner ends career on high note (11/28)

Recount, Puntsville take undercard stakes at Hawthorne (11/28)

Valiant City can continue streak in Hawthorne Gold Cup Handicap (11/27)

The Pizza Man wins Hollywood Turf Cup (11/26)

Commissioner heads field for Hawthorne Gold Cup (11/25)

Churchill analyst Kristufek a reliable tipster (11/25)

Joliet OTB moving, looking at Heroes West (11/24)



Home | News Updates | Bloggers | Forums | Search
Resources | Links | Marketplace | Gallery | Advertising | Contact Us

Copyright © 2000-2015 Chicago Barn to Wire. All rights reserved.
Privacy policy