Chicago Barn to Wire
Home | News | Bloggers | Forums | Resources | Links | Marketplace | Gallery | Contact Us | Search
Chicago racing newsletter sign-up
Upcoming events
Arlington Million

News Updates

Previous stories

Chicago Sun-Times
Chicago Tribune
Daily Herald
Daily Racing Form
Harness Link
Illinois Racing Board

Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby

Breeders' Cup
Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby

Breeders' Cup
Hawthorne Gold Cup
Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby





Balmoral Park

Balmoral Park (11/8/12)

Contact: Tom Kelley
(708) 672-1414


After dominating the state of Indiana to the tune of nine wins and one third place finish in 11 starts, William C. & William P. De Long and Katey McClymont’s Always About Katey retuns to the local scene looking to continue an impressive start to her career when she faces five rivals in Saturday’s $113,000 American National Stake for 2yo pacing fillies.

The connections of Always About Katey have been high on the the daughter of Always A Virgin-Topville Cyberwave from the time they purchased her at the 2011 Hoosier Sale.

“From the moment we broke her, the first time we hitched her we knew she was something special,” said Pat De Long. “Her biggest asset is she takes care of herself. She still looks as good going into this race as the day we sent her down to Roger Welch to train her and that’s a tough thing for a two-year-old filly to be able to do.”

The filly, who was sold under the name of Topville Classical as a $17,000 yearling, also underwent a name change thanks to Beau De Long said Welch.

“The De Longs have an employee (Katey McClymont) who works at their food company and the filly’s name was changed on her behalf. She owns a 10 percent stake in the horse and it’s her first horse. That’s not a bad way to get into the game.”

The filly rewarded her owners’ faith in her by winning her career debut at Hoosier Park in easy fashion. One week later she stepped up to face “open” company in the $53,900 Hanover Stake here at Balmoral Park where she cruised to another easy victory with Todd Warren at the controls.

It was back to the Hoosier state after that. Following a third place finish in an Indiana Sire Stake, Always About Katey rattled off three more wins including a $200,000 ISS Gold Final giving her a pair of $200,000 finals in her first season. That victory really seemed to impress her conditioner.

“She’s just so tough, just so tough,” said Welch. “She was parked to the quarter in 27 and change with a half in 55.1 and still just paced away from the rest of the field in the stretch. She had every right in the world to pack it in but she didn’t. She just dug in and showed her class. She’s really a tough filly.”

The filly then went up against top class company in her latest start, going wire to wire in a 3 ¾ length triumph in which she stopped the clock in 1:53.4.

American National 2yo Filly Pace winners

Year Horse (Driver) Time
1985 Walkin On Air (Ron Marsh) 1:58
1986 Pacific (Tom Harmer) 1:58.1
1987 Dancer (Sam “Chip” Noble III) 1:58.1
  Glider (Mark O’Mara) 1:58
1988 Frilly One (Walter Paisley) 1:58
1989 Excited (Bill Fahy) 1:57.3
1990 Start Dialing (Dave Rankin) 1:59.3
1991 Tax’N Tip (Tom Harmer) 1:59.1
  Brilliant Colors (D.R. Ackerman) 1:58.1
1992 Orillia Sexy (Dave Magee) 1:56.1
  Galveston (Dave Magee) 1:57.4
1993 Electric Slide (Dave Magee) 1:55.2
1994 Athena Blue Chip (Brian Pinske) 1:54.2
  Glendale Kim (Dave Magee) 1:56.3
1995 Faded Glory (Dean Magee) 1:55.2
1996 Ice Chaser (Lavern Hostetler) 1:55.2
1997 Genuine Woman (Dave Magee) 1:54.3
1998 Juxtaposition (Sam Widger) 1:55.1
1999 Bootsy (Lance Scurlock) 1:54
2000 Raging Heart (Andy Miller) 1:53.2
2001 Roaring Good Time (Dean Magee) 1:54.1
2002 Loyal Opposition (Andy Miller) 1:53.1
2003 KiKiKatie (Dale Hiteman) 1:54.2
2004 Restive Hanover (Andy Miller) 1:53.2
2005 CC Stacy (Tony Morgan) 1:52.4
2006 Cabana Fever (Ryan Anderson) R 1:52.2
2007 Kelly’s Keepsake (David Miller) 1:53
2008 Notjustaprettyface (Tim Tetrick) 1:53
2009 Gigglicious (Tim Tetrick) 1:55.1
2010 Pardon (Dave Magee) 1:54.4
2011 Princess Cruiser (Yannick Gingras) 1:56.1

R=Designates Stakes Record Time
*Raced at Sportsman’s Park, 1959 through 1997; and at Balmoral Park 1998 to present.

For more information visit or call (708) 672-1414.

About Balmoral Park: Located in Crete, IL just 12 miles south of 80/94; Balmoral Park has been one of the nation's premier horse racing facilities since 1926. Balmoral Park features live racing every Wednesday, Saturday and Sunday. Admission and parking is always free.

index sitemap advanced
search engine by freefind



Recent headlines

Hawthorne summer harness stall apps due April 1 (3/23)

IRB March 2016 meeting agenda (3/10)

Running Aces 2016 stall applications are now available (3/2)

R. Craig Kelley, 72, dies (2/28)

Hawthorne announces spring late closers (2/26)

IHHA President David McCaffrey named as ITHA Executive Director (2/15)

Change can be good (2/13)

No place like home for Casey (2/12)

Watch and Bet Harness Racing at



Home | News Updates | Bloggers | Forums | Search
Resources | Links | Marketplace | Gallery | Advertising | Contact Us

Copyright © 2000-2017 Chicago Barn to Wire. All rights reserved.
Privacy policy