Chicago Barn to Wire
Home | News | Bloggers | Forums | Resources | Links | Marketplace | Gallery | Contact Us | Search
Chicago racing newsletter sign-up
Upcoming events
Arlington Million

News Updates

Previous stories

Chicago Sun-Times
Chicago Tribune
Daily Herald
Daily Racing Form
Harness Link
Illinois Racing Board

Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby

Breeders' Cup
Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby

Breeders' Cup
Hawthorne Gold Cup
Arlington Million
Triple Crown
Illinois Derby





Balmoral Park

Balmoral Park (11/8/12)

Contact: Tom Kelley
(708) 672-1414


Already boasting the title of the richest pacer in harness racing history with more than $4.6 million in earnings for owners Burke Racing, Weaver Bruscemi and JJK Stables, Foiled Again will look to repeat as the Champion of the American National Aged Pace when he battles eight rivals in Saturday’s $182,000 edition of this prestigious event.

Fresh off a 1:49.1 score in the $200,000 Indiana Pacing Derby on November 3, the eight-year-old son of Dragon Again has shown no signs of slowing down with age as he’s racked up 31 of his 65 lifetime victories and more than $3.5 million of his bankroll over the past three seasons as well as being named Pacer of the Year in 2011.

It’s almost gotten to the point now where we are surprised when he doesn’t win,” said trainer Ronnie Burke. “He’s just a freak. There’s no other way to put it when you talk about the things he’s done on the track.”

With earnings of over $1.2 million in 2011, Foiled Again is the oldest horse in harness racing history to have a $1 million-plus season. He was also the first horse in history older than the age of four to be named Pacer of the Year (2011) as well as the first older pacer named to that lofty status since Real Desire pulled off the feat during his four-year-old year in 2002.

Purchased for $20,000 as a yearling back in 2005, Foiled Again at one time was considered a half-mile specialist because of repeated victories at Yonkers, Northfield and Harrington. Over the past few seasons he has certainly shed that image by winning such races as the American National here at Balmoral Park, the Indiana Pacing Derby at Indiana Downs and the Graduate at the Meadowlands, all one-mile ovals. He also captured this year’s Canadian Pacing Derby at Mohawk Raceway.

Regular pilot Yannick Gingras and Foiled Again’s contingent of owners have always been impressed by the gelding’s toughness and ability to win but also by the way he seems to take care of himself during a race and in the down time leading up to a big event.

“You can have all the ability in the world but if you can’t stay on the track what good is it,” said co-owner Kevin Koury of JJK Stables. “He’s the horse of a lifetime and not just because he’s a great horse but because of the people involved with him. He’s given us all some unbelievable memories and that just makes it even sweeter.”

There are still records to be broken. Three trotters have earned more than Foiled Again: Varenne ($5.63 million in U.S. dollars), Moni Maker ($5.58 million) and Jag de Bellouet ($4.97 million).

“I think $5 million is a realistic number,” Burke said. “Being honest, that’s a lot, but that’s what we are shooting for now, I guess. I would say becoming the richest Standardbred is our goal now. That’s all that’s left in front of him.”

Koury agreed.

“We’re talking numbers that are like Monopoly money at this point,” he said, laughing. “We might as well make it the goal. We’ll shoot for the highest and see what happens.”

American National Aged Pace winners

Year Horse (Driver) Time
1985 Mr Dalrea (Dale Hiteman) 1:56.1
1986 Hothead (Lavern Hostetler) 1:56
1987 Anniecrombie (Walter Case, Jr.) 1:53.4
1988 Stir Fry (Danny Johnson) 1:55.1
1989 Keystone Raider (Dave Magee) 1:54
  Money Lender (Dale Hiteman) 1:54.3
1990 Keystone Raider (Walter Paisley) 1:53.2
1991 Odds Against (Dave Magee) 1:53.3
1992 Artsplace (John Campbell) 1:51.3
1993 Staying Together (Bill O’Donnell) 1:50.2
1994 Staying Together (Bill O’Donnell) 1:50.4
1995 Ball And Chain (Tony Morgan) 1:50.2
1996 Falcon Dakota (Joe Anderson) 1:51.3
1997 Falcon Dakota (Joe Anderson) 1:51.3
1998 Tune Town (Del Chupp) 1:50.1
1999 Big Tom (Joe Anderson) 1:50
2000 Royal Flush Hanover (Dave Magee) 1:49.3
2001 Gallo Blue Chip (Daniel Dube) 1:50
2002 Color Me Best (Dave Magee) 1:49.4
2003 Peruvian Hanover (Tim Tetrick) 1:51.1
2004 Peruvian Hanover (Tim Tetrick) 1:49.4
2005 Escape The Wind (Roger Mayotte) 1:51.1
2006 Holborn Hanover (George Brennan) R 1:47.4
2007 Maltese Artist (Greg Grismore) 1:50.1
2008 Won The West (Greg Grismore) 1:49.2
2009 Won The West (Dave Palone) 1:48.2
2010 Bettor Sweet (John Campbell) 1:50
2011 Foiled Again (Yannick Gingras) 1:51.4

R=Designates Stakes Record Time
*Raced at Sportsman’s Park, 1959 through 1997; and at Balmoral Park 1998 to present.

For more information visit or call (708) 672-1414.

About Balmoral Park: Located in Crete, IL just 12 miles south of 80/94; Balmoral Park has been one of the nation's premier horse racing facilities since 1926. Balmoral Park features live racing every Wednesday, Saturday and Sunday. Admission and parking is always free.

index sitemap advanced
search engine by freefind



Recent headlines

Hawthorne summer harness stall apps due April 1 (3/23)

IRB March 2016 meeting agenda (3/10)

Running Aces 2016 stall applications are now available (3/2)

R. Craig Kelley, 72, dies (2/28)

Hawthorne announces spring late closers (2/26)

IHHA President David McCaffrey named as ITHA Executive Director (2/15)

Change can be good (2/13)

No place like home for Casey (2/12)

Watch and Bet Harness Racing at



Home | News Updates | Bloggers | Forums | Search
Resources | Links | Marketplace | Gallery | Advertising | Contact Us

Copyright © 2000-2017 Chicago Barn to Wire. All rights reserved.
Privacy policy