|Illinois Racing Board
The following is a list of 6 recently adopted rules. A current version of the entire IRB rulebook can be found on the Board's website at www.state.il.us/agency/irb. However, if you would like a copy of a complete rule(s) sent to you, please call Mickey Ezzo at 312-814-5017.
- Part 502 [Section 502.104(b)] - new section, effective August 1, 2004.
Section 502.104 Denial of a License for Just Cause in Illinois or in Another Racing Jurisdiction
b) Pursuant to Section 16(a) of the Act, the Board may refuse to issue or may suspend the occupation license of any person who fails to file a tax return, or to pay the tax, penalty or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty or interest, as required by any tax Act administered by the Department of Revenue, until the requirements of the tax Act are satisfied.
- Part 502 [Section 502.230(a)] - change 18 years of age to 16 to mirror existing rule 1411.140(a). Effective August 1, 2004.
Section 502.230 Jockeys and Apprentice Jockeys
An applicant for a license as a jockey or apprentice jockey shall:
- be at least 16 years of age or have been licensed as a jockey in this or another racing jurisdiction prior to the effective date of these rules; and
- Part 603 [Section 603.70(b)(1)] - insert "a minimum of" before 14 days in 1st sentence. Effective August 1, 2004.
Section 603.70 Furosemide
b) Veterinarian's List
- When a horse is added to the furosemide list, it shall be placed on the veterinarian's list and shall be ineligible to race for a minimum of 14 days. The 14 day ineligibility period begins on the certification date defined in subsections (c)(1)(A), (B), (C), and (D). During this 14 day period, the horse shall not be permitted to race with or without furosemide. Before the horse shall be permitted to enter a race, it must qualify on furosemide by participating in a qualifying race or by performing an official workout without bleeding, to the satisfaction of the State Veterinarian. Horses must wait 9 days following the certification date before participating in a qualifying race.
- Part 1305 [Section 1305.320] - repealed effective August 1, 2004.
Section 1305.320 Admissions (Repealed)
- Part 1313 [Section 1313.70(a) & (b)] - amend paragraph (a) and repeal paragraph (b) effective August 22, 2004.
Section 1313.70 Horses in Paddock
- All horses must be in the paddock, in their assigned stalls, between four (4) hours and six (6) hours before scheduled post time of the race in which the horse is entered, as determined by the Board. Failure to have a horse in the assigned stall at the designated deadline shall result in the horse being scratched, and the trainer of record shall be subject to a fine not less than $200 and not more than $500. The fine may be waived if the stewards determine that a verifiable emergency (for example, inclement weather, medical emergency or trainer vehicle breakdown or accident) prevented the trainer from getting the horse to the racetrack at the designated deadline. The trainer shall submit appropriate written documentation of the emergency as determined by the stewards (for example, emergency room report, towing or repair bill or police report). Except for warm-up scores, no horse shall leave the paddock until called to post.
- Horses shipped in from approved outside stabling areas must be in the designated receiving barn by 4 p.m. of the day they are to race. (Repealed)
- Part 1403 [Section 1403.10] - amend by deleting the sentence which required a doctor and nurse to be on duty. Effective August 1, 2004.
Section 1403.10 Designation of Officials
In addition to the stewards, officials of a race meeting shall include the following: three placing judges, patrol judges (at least three at tracks of one mile or over), clerk of the scales, jockey room custodian, racing secretary, timer, paddock judge, and veterinarians (two of whom shall be appointed by the Board and designated as the state veterinarians).