Chicago Barn to Wire

Chicago racing newsletter sign-up 
Upcoming events
Breeders' Cup
Hawthorne Gold Cup
Horse slaughter in Illinois
Search Chicago Barn to Wire

ARLINGTON NOTES

Contact: Michele Terry, Eclipse Press, 859-276-6832
mterry@eclipsepress.com
The Lynxx Group, 301-699-9744

Women in Racing-In Their Own Words

An Event at Arlington...

Lexington, KY (August 27, 2001) -- Eclipse Press, the book publishing division of The Blood-Horse, Inc., announces a book signing for their newest release, Women in Racing - In Their Own Words, by father and daughter authors John and Julia McEvoy, at Arlington Park's Starting Gate Theatre, noon to 1 p.m. Monday, Sept. 3, 2001 at Arlington Park in Arlington Heights, Illinois.

"Women in Racing" is a fascinating collection of candid interviews with eighteen engaging women from the Thoroughbred racing industry who broke into the once predominantly male bastion of "The sport of Kings." Their honest and moving stories recount the everyday challenges they faced to pursue their dreams: from jockey-room brawls to the hardships faced by a Mexican groom who, to find work in the United States, was forced to leave behind her one-month-old child.

Also included are the first-person stories of legendary breeder Alice Chandler, trainers Jenine Sahadi and Linda Rice, TV commentator Charlsie Cantey, and former jockey Donna Barton. Their stories and others combine to form a compelling, behind-the-scenes picture of horse racing.

Several of the notable women featured, including jockey Zoe Cadman, trainer Christine Janks, jockey's wife Dot Sibille, groom Maria Rabadan, and chart caller Sheryl Stefanowicz, have also been invited to attend the event and sign copies. Copies of the book will be available to purchase from the track for this event.

Published by Eclipse Press, September 2001.
ISBN: 1-58150-067-X Photos-30 color
Pages: 256, Bound Size: 6 x 9
Retail price: $19.95 Hardcover

Eclipse Press is a division of The Blood-Horse, Inc., publishers of The Blood-Horse, the Thoroughbred industry's largest and only international weekly magazine; The Horse, a monthly magazine devoted to equine health care; TBH MarketWatch, a twice-monthly newsletter for Thoroughbred investors; Keeneland magazine, a seasonal publication devoted to the Bluegrass lifestyle; Equine Images, a quarterly publication devoted to equine art; the official Kentucky Derby and Breeders' Cup souvenir magazines; and an array of books, videos, CD-ROMs, and annual references.

The Blood-Horse, Inc. also operates The Blood-Horse Interactive on the web (www.bloodhorse.com), The Horse Interactive (www.thehorse.com), Eclipse Press (www.eclipsepress.com), Thoroughbred Legends (www.thoroughbredlegends.com), Keeneland Magazine (www.keenelandmagazine.com), The HayNet (www.haynet.net), Exclusively Equine (www.exclusivelyequine.com), and Stallion Register Online (www.stallionregister.com).

Copyright 2001, The Blood-Horse, Inc. All rights reserved. The Blood-Horse, The Horse, and TBH MarketWatch are registered trademarks of The Blood-Horse, Inc.

- END -

 

 

Home | News Updates | Racing Now | Forums | Search
Resources | Links | Classifieds | Gallery | Advertising | Contact Us

Copyright © 2000-2014 Chicago Barn to Wire. All rights reserved.
Privacy policy