Chicago Barn to Wire


Arlington Million updates

Arlington Park Barn Notes

Contact: Graham Ross (847) 385-7500 ext. 7319

In today's notes:


Hall of Fame reinsman Jerry Bailey made a unique mark on the International Festival of Racing at Arlington Park last year when he became the first jockey in history to win the Grade I Arlington Million and the Grade I Beverly D. in the same year.

This year, jockeys attempting to equal Bailey's Arlington Million-Beverly D. sweep include jockeys Robby Albarado, Kent Desormeaux, Todd Kabel, Chris McCarron, Corey Nakatani, and Alex Solis.

Albarado, Arlington's champion jockey in 1996, rides Bentley Smith Revocable Trust's Solvig in the Beverly D. and Bruce Barton & Alvin D. Haynes' Make No Mistake in the Arlington Million.

Kent Desormeaux is aboard Allen E. Paulson Living Trust's Astra in the Beverly D. and Gary A. Tanaka's Caitano in the Million.

Todd Kabel rides Sam-Son Farm's Only to You in the Beverly D. and that same Canadian farm's Quiet Resolve in the Million.

Chris McCarron has the mount Stonerside Stable LLC's Kalatiara in the sister race to the Million and Bienamado, owned by Trudy McCaffery, John Toffan and Robert Sangster in the biggest event of the Chicago Thoroughbred season.

Corey Nakatani is assigned Edouard de Rothschild's England's Legend in the Beverly D. and John Greely III, Tom Nichols & Columbine Stable's Takarian in the Arlington Million.

Alex Solis rides Charles Kenis' The Seven Seas in the Beverly D. and comes back with Luiz A. Taunay's Redattore in the Arlington Million.


In Arlington Park history, no jockey has ever ridden the winner of the Arlington Million and the Grade I Secretariat in the same year.

Jockeys Jerry Bailey, Michael Fenton, Todd Kabel, Chris McCarron, Corey Nakatani, and Alex Solis are in a position to accomplish that feat in 2001.

Bailey rides Allen E. Paulson Living Trust's Hap in the Arlington Million and Juddmonte Farms, Inc.'s Mizzen Mast in the Secretariat.

European reinsman Michael Fenton is astride Erik Penser's Compton Bolter in the Million and Lord Blyth & R. P. B. Michaelson's Snowstorm in the Secretariat.

Todd Kabel follows his Million mount on Quiet Resolve with a trip aboard Sam-Son Farm's Strut The Stage in the Secretariat.

McCarron follows his favored Million mount on Bienamado with one aboard William Bloom, John Behrendt & Charles Marquis' Sharp Performance in the Secretariat.

Nakatani follows his assignment on Takarian with one in the Secretariat on Columbine Stable's Sligo Bay.

Solis will come back after riding Redattore in the Million to accept the mount aboard Allen E. Paulson Living Trust's Startac in the Secretariat.

Only jockeys Todd Kabel, Chris McCarron, Corey Nakatani and Alex Solis have mounts in all three Grade I races that make up Arlington Park's International Festival of Racing, a "hat trick" of winners that has not yet been accomplished in the same year.


Sam-Son Farm is the only owner with representatives in all three races of the International Festival of Racing.

The red and gold silks of Sam-Son will be worn by Quiet Resolve, Only to You and Strut The Stage in the Arlington Million, Beverly D. and Secretariat respectively.

No trainer has ever saddled the winners of the Arlington Million and the Beverly D. in the same season, but Hall of Fame trainer Bobby Frankel will attempt to accomplish that feat with Senure and The Seven Seas. Conditioner Mark Frostad, with the Sam-Son troika in all three races has the possibility of an even more difficult historical first.

- END -



Home | News Updates | Racing Now | Forums | Search
Resources | Links | Classifieds | Gallery | Advertising | Contact Us

Copyright © 2000-2017 Chicago Barn to Wire. All rights reserved.
Privacy policy